A Little Bit Of Magic.

23 Nov

“Sometimes you cannot believe what you see, you have to believe what you feel. And if you are ever going to have other people trust you, you must feel that you can trust them, too–even when you’re in the dark. Even when you’re falling.”-Mitch Albom

As I sit here writing this, the view before me is made up of 4 big windows spanning the back of our house. Beyond the windows lie leafless trees with mountains stretching beyond. There’s something magical about the mountains that I’ve never been able to place. It’s as if worries or stresses are left behind and the trees surround you in a nature hug full of hopefulness and promise. This Thanksgiving Break, I needed the serenity of the mountains. The stress of the semester was enveloping me, and this escape has given me the air I’ve needed to breathe. 

It’s windy here today and the sudden cold is a reminder that winter is coming. Part of me is not looking forward to it simply because I love fall too much, and so I feel like it came and went quicker than usual. However, since I don’t regularly experience snow, I’m looking forward to being in Asheville for winter. When it snows and everything is white, the world gets quiet. The world becomes a whisper and everyone stops to marvel at the magic that nature has provided. I’m looking forward to enveloping myself in the quiet magic of snow. Snow angels and snowball fights and getting bundled up in winter coats and gloves to take a walk, plus lots of coffee. Pure magic. 

What’s your magic? 

One Response to “A Little Bit Of Magic.”

  1. Mom November 23, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    My magic is waterfalls. I’ve always been mesmerized by them – the overall beauty of water cascading over rock, but also of the myriad of mini waterfalls within one. Water spewing over a rock jutted at a weird angle, or falling in glass sheets, or rushing through chute. It helps me remember that we all go at our own pace and that’s fine.

Leave a Reply

