Early Christmas Magic.

16 Nov

“Don’t you worry there my honey. We might not have any money, but we’ve got our love to pay the bills”-Ingrid Michaelson. 

Last night I listened to “You and I” by Ingrid Michaelson, and I’ve had it on repeat since then. I think the basic meaning of it is having someone to share your days with while also giving back to others as much as possible. That’s what I want to focus on today: giving. The past few days have been great for me socially, and I’m proud to say that I haven’t been this happy since my happy memories of senior year at Salem (which is big). I’ve been smiling for days, and it’s a good feeling.

I think a lot of this has been centered around the realization that I really do want to help people. Yes, I love Psychology, but it goes deeper than that. I know personally how beneficial counseling can be. It’s benefited me over the past 4 years, and I’ve been able to accept things that happened in my childhood that I thought I’d never be able to face again. I’ve somewhat gotten over the physical pain of my past. Though I still have pain, of course, the hard parts are done. The surgeries and intensive physical therapy is all over. I no longer have a rough relationship with my mom because though she pushed me as a child, I’ve understood how much she must love me to have the ability to force herself to push me so hard. That’s some hardcore love right there, and I know that both my parents will have my back through anything, and I love them for that. Also, my relationship with my older brother has improved. Things changed when I went away to boarding school, and I think it was because we both matured and realized that we needed each other.

Before I went to boarding school (as in when I was much younger), my friend Webb acted as my brother since my own brother wasn’t at a place yet in his life to be the brother I truly needed. Webb has known me since I was young, and I truly would be lost without him. He’s helped me through so much and has reminded me on a regular basis just how wonderful I am. I feel like we all need someone in our life like that every once in a while. Webb is from my hometown, and in March he moved to California in order to see more of the world and get out of our small town. I was pretty upset when he moved because even though we don’t see each other much, we’re incredibly close.

Therefore, I’m happy to report that I heard two days ago that Webb is coming back home for good this week. It’s like Christmas has come early. I don’t know the details as of now, and will find out when I see him over Christmas, but I am so happy because I’ve really missed him. And I’ve gone through a lot these past few months without him being only a state away, and that has been hard. But come Christmas, my world will be right side up again!

One Response to “Early Christmas Magic.”

  1. Errign November 17, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Great news 🙂

Leave a Reply

