Spread Your Wings.

15 Nov

“Extraordinary things are always hiding in places people never think to look.”-Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is a New York Times Bestselling author of eighteen previous novels who lives in Hanover, New Hampshire. She is my all-time favorite author, and on March 8th, 2010, I got to hear her speak and have her newest book at the time (House Rules) signed. Needless to say, it was one of the best nights of my life.

Not only did I get to hear her speak about her life, her newest book, and receive her autograph, but I realized that she was just an amazing in person as I had imagined her to be while I read her books. She’s a passionate writer who comes up with ideas for books through the controversial questions that keep her up at night. I think that’s one of the reasons why she has so many readers. Because her readers want to know the “answer” to those questions as much as she does. I partly wish I could hear her speak again now since between when I heard her then and now, I’ve gotten back into writing. I took a lot away from her talk back in 2010, but I think I’d get even more out of it now since I’m back in my groove of writing again.

“Writer’s block is for people who have a luxury of time.”

She said that line during her talk, and it has stuck with me since. She pointed out the fact that the people who need and love to write will find time, whether it’s an hour at the end of the day or 15 minutes during a lunch break. I haven’t quite reached that point again yet, but I’m getting close. The fact that I am restless until I’m able to write my blog post of the day is definitely a move in the right direction. It’s made me remember why I started writing in the first place: because it was the only way I could breathe, the only way I could spread my wings and eventually fly.

So, don’t be afraid to follow your dreams. Yes, that’s cliché, but it’s also true. You want to be able to look at your life ten years from now and know that you did everything you could to pursue your dreams. Yes, life’s too hard to truly believe that everything you want in life, you’ll receive. No one should live like that. It just sets you up for disappointments later on in life. But, if you’ve got a dream, what’s wrong with giving it all you’ve got? After all, this is the only life we have. We might as be as happy as we can be while we’re living it.

5 Responses to “Spread Your Wings.”

  1. ailialana November 15, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I have read some of her work. Lucky you to meet with her and be inspired.

  2. Errign November 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    New Hampshireeeeee represent. Hanover is like, the cutest town ever, and it helps that there’s all kinds of gorgeous Dartmouth boys roaming around! 🙂 I like Jodi & I think following your dreams is awesome-sauce 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 November 15, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      I’ve always wanted to visit Hanover. I’ll totally let you know if I’m ever in the area in the future!

      • Errign November 15, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

        Well, duuuuuh. Just warning you though, there’s nothing in Hanover. It’s just cute. hahah

  3. ameliaclaire92 November 15, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    I love cute towns! 🙂

Leave a Reply

