The Power of Music and Theatre.

14 Nov

“Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.”-Ludwig Van Beethoven

I’ve always been amazed at the power of music. It has the power to transport you back to a time, an exact moment, an emotion. Throughout life, we associate music with memories, and when we hear particular songs, we’re able to relive those memories with the same amount of emotion as when we first experienced them.

For instance, right now I’m listening to Mamma Mia by Abba, which reminds me of one theatre rehearsal at Wofford last year. The director, Tori, said we needed a random dance party to get us energized and focused. So she played Mamma Mia. In a matter of seconds, everyone in the cast and crew was dancing around, acting silly, twirling each other around, and laughing so hard that they had to stop and catch their breath. It was also a reminder that everyone in the cast and crew depended on everyone else, so it was a great way to unify us again and make us remember why we love theatre.

It’s been hard not being involved in theatre this semester. Though I’ve still made some great friends, I feel like I’m still missing something. Theatre was one of my sanctuaries as a kid, a place I could go and not worry about being judged. It was a place where things I was good at could shine, but the things that didn’t didn’t matter. It was also a place where I was accepted and loved by being true to myself, and I needed that so much as a kid. I didn’t just find a theatre community, I found a family. Last year when I got involved in theatre again, it made me remember just how much I love it. So next semester I’m going to try and get involved again. Though it’s a huge time committment, I may try and get involved in an area that’s not quite as time consuming so that I can still be involved without feeling overwhelmed.

Has there been something in your life that you’ve always found comfort in?

2 Responses to “The Power of Music and Theatre.”

  1. Errign November 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I definitely was never involved in theatre or any of the arts growing up, due to an inability to sing, dance, paint, and/or create anything, haha. For me, it was skiing, and now it’s definitely running, yoga, and blogging. I like solitary activities that I can chose to include other people in.

  2. Tucky November 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    For me, dogs. And dogs. And then there were dogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

