For My Dad.

13 Nov

“The family – that dear octopus from whose tentacles we never quite escape, nor, in our inmost hearts, ever quite wish to.”

Today is my dad’s birthday. Though I couldn’t spend the day with him, hearing his voice was just what I needed.

Family is like that. You push them away when you’re young, but then you get much older and realize how much you want to be with them. My dad and I have always been close. It seems like just yesterday he was rocking me in his mom’s rocking chair after one of my nightmares. At that age, I’d look up to him like he was the moon in my sky. And even though I’m 19 now, not much has really changed. I still hug him and sit on his lap and hold his hand. It’s how we’ve always been, and it’s what I’ve always needed. He has supported me through all that I’ve done in my life, and he’s always been the one to make it known that he believes in me, but he’s also been the one to give me a shoulder to cry on if things don’t turn out very well. He’s creative, just like me…and I think that’s allowed us to connect even better. I think the best thing though is that I know that he won’t ever let me down. He’ll be the one man in my life that I can always count on to be there for me, even if some decisions may not have been the right ones. He’ll be there anyway, and I’ll be able to run into his arms just like I did as a kid. That’s what family does. They support you in your triumphs and are there to pick you up when you fall. There has always been something special about getting a hug from my parents. Something that reaches down into your soul and says: “Hey, I’m here, and I love you with everything I have.”

In a nutshell, my dad is my hero. He’s been the best dad that I could have ever asked for, and I love him so so much.

5 Responses to “For My Dad.”

  1. Gabby Angel November 13, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I really thought this was beautiful. Very nicely written and I enjoyed reading it so much. A lovely tribute to your Dad on his birthday. 🙂 Happy you, too were blessed with such a wonderful Dad.

  2. Ben Coonrod November 14, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Amelia –
    Nothing I can say can express how deeply moved I am by this. You’ve just given me the most beautiful birthday present I think I’ve ever been given! You mean so much to me. You, Mary Jo and Matthew fulfill my life. I will always love you totally.
    I confess I wondered if you were saying I was an octopus (Not the most attractive creature in the world!) and what that meant when I realized that it just gave me more arms to hug you with.
    I love you – and remember you’ll always be my favorite daughter!
    Dad

  3. Mom November 14, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    So sweet, Amelia. I cried happy tears as I read it.

  4. ailialana November 14, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Beautiful Amelia!

  5. Errign November 14, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Aw, I love your parents comments 🙂 Happy Birthday to your dad!

    My dad and I are super, super close and it hit me like a ton of bricks when we found out how sick he was. His brain tumor has taught me a lot though, and while I hate the stupid thing, I do respect the things I’ve learned from it.

Leave a Reply

