The Home Stretch…Hopefully.

10 Nov

When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.”-Henry Ford

It’s been a rather chilly day today in Asheville. Winter is definitely on the way. Along with it being cold and windy here today, my stress has escaladed due to so many projects and papers piling up as the semester slowly crawls to a close. So for the rest of this week and weekend I have a Biology lab write-up, a Psychology research proposal, and a Sustainability project paper. My main focus is going to be the Sustainability project paper and the Biology lab write-up (Hooray…I’m just jumping for joy about sitting down to start these this weekend….not really). Even though I know there’s not much time left in the semester, it feels like a marathon.

Even though I’m stressed though, it was a perfect day to go get a massage at Relax and Rejuvinate. I’ve been going since around the start of the semester, and I think it has really helped a lot because my back doesn’t hurt as much. I’m still pretty stressed, but my body isn’t nearly as tense as before my massage, which is definitely a plus. I’ve also had trouble falling asleep lately, so last night I created a nightly ritual of putting on lavender lotion after my shower and then heating up my neck warmer in the microwave (about 3 minutes) and then placing it on my neck right before bed. Even though it did relax my neck and make me relatively sleepy, I still wasn’t able to fall asleep for a few hours. I have a feeling it may have to do with some medication that I’m taking, so I’ll be going in about a week to get all that checked out.

What do you do to relax/get rid of stress?

2 Responses to “The Home Stretch…Hopefully.”

  1. Errign November 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    This is going to sound really weird, but in the few days leading up to the full moon (which is tonight) I always have trouble falling asleep. It’s actually pretty common, though I know it sounds whack.

  2. ameliaclaire92 November 10, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Hmm, interesting. I’ve never heard that.

Leave a Reply

