Throw Me A Rope.

7 Nov

“Give me one reason to stay here, and I’ll turn right back around.”-Tracy Chapman

One of my dogs, Hoss. 🙂

It’s beautiful here in Asheville today. Warm enough to not have to wear a jacket, but cool enough to not be hot. I spent about an hour today sitting in my favorite study spot (it’s a circular grassy area across from my residence hall with lots of benches and trees). And I didn’t even need to study! Pretty much perfect. While I was sitting in my study spot, a song popped into my head: Throw Me A Rope by KT Tunstall.

Though this song is sort of sad, there’s a meaning behind it that I like to hold on to. The first two lines of the chorus: “Throw me a rope/ To hold me in place” remind me of the importance of living in the present moment. I have a habit of focusing/worrying too much about the past. Though I’ve realized this for a number of years, I’ve just begun to understand that things are so much easier to take if you just try your best to live in the present and just roll with the punches as they come. Though we can control our actions, we can’t always control what happens to us. So why fret over it? However, many of us, including me, still do. I think the one thing that I’ve remembered over the last few weeks is that every day is a new day and can’t be just as good or better as the previous day.

Also, I just love spending time with people. So I think another aspect of living in the moment is trying to make as many memories with the friends that are in your life now as you possibly can. A year ago, I wouldn’t have been able to know which friends would be in my life and which ones wouldn’t. But either way, I’m grateful for the friends (new and old) who are with me now. So my goal for the next couple of weeks is to make as many memories with my friends as I can. The first one will be tonight when I go to the exhibition basketball games with my friend Nichole. I love watching basketball, and I’m so glad that the season is starting.

I hope everyone has a great rest of their day. Hugs!

3 Responses to “Throw Me A Rope.”

  1. Mom November 7, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Going to two, not one, basketball game in the same day will be an incredible memory. My memory from the weekend with you is making brownies and partaking of quite a few fingerfuls of batter…. and showing Heather our own special technique. YUM.

  2. jcunroe November 8, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Your blog is incredible! Keep writing-you are super talented. You definitely just gained a new reader.

  3. ameliaclaire92 November 8, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Thank you so much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

