Daylight Savings Time…An Annoyance Or A Blessing?

6 Nov

“But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep”-Robert Frost. 

Myrtle Beach, SC

Though the thought of getting an “extra” hour of sleep sounds nice, every fall Daylight Savings Time seems to not settle well with my body. Though I know that I will eventually get adjusted, it’s always the first few days that are the hardest. Granted, this morning I woke up around 9 (which would have been 10 yesterday morning) and was happy that it was only 9, even though I felt relatively rested. However, this time of night is when I’m not a fan of DST. It’s only 8:40pm, and I feel like I could go to sleep right now and be out in a matter of seconds.

Either way, I need to get back on a regular sleep schedule again. Studies have shown that our bodies like sleep (obviously), but so much so that our internal clocks try to become regular (so that we go to bed and wake up around the same times each night). However, when you’re a college student, a regular sleep cycle is something most students don’t have on a regular basis. I, on the other hand, normally try to establish a regular sleep cycle as best as I can since I know that my body appreciates it.

However, we all have certain things we do in order to give us energy when it’s relatively sparse in the morning. I love coffee, so that’s what I use to wake up and get ready to face the day. However, I know that not everyone’s a coffee drinker. So what do you use to wake up and get energized in the morning?

2 Responses to “Daylight Savings Time…An Annoyance Or A Blessing?”

  1. Errign November 7, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    I love DST haha. Then again though, I am a total grandma and love waking up early and going to bed early. I don’t drink coffee or do caffeine that often, but I can generally just wake up and go for a run and I’ll be good.

    • ameliaclaire92 November 7, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      Haha, yeah. I love going to bed early, but waking up early is a completely different story.

Leave a Reply

