Pasta, Laughter, and Random Dancing…Oh, and Fro-Yo!

3 Nov

“You’re the kind of reckless that should send me runnin’, but I kinda know that I won’t get far”-Taylor Swift

The bright spot in all the darkness.

Having a support system is a must. As of now, I have the best support system I could dream of: family that’s always there and friends who’d be there for me whenever I need them. However, I haven’t always been secure with the people in my life. Since I have CP, life was hard as a kid. Coping with my disability was hard enough, but then trying to make friends on top of that…so hard. Therefore, as a kid, I did have a few friends, but most of the time I felt like they were “pity friends” and only hanging out with me because they noticed that I always ate alone at lunch or didn’t play with other kids at reccess. After having those few friends, I went through a period of years where I didn’t really spent much time with kids my age. It’s hard when you’re young to understand why people look at you funny or wonder what’s wrong with you. So, I had some years without friends, and even though that was hard, it was time that I needed in order to become comfortable with myself and who I am.

Therefore, to all the people struggling to make connections with people, I completely know the feeling..trust me. And yes, I know it can be hard. And it may mean stepping out of your comfort zone or just embracing a new hobby that you’ve always wanted to try. But once you’ve got people around you that you couldn’t imagine your life without and would be there for you if you ever needed them, you’ll forget about what it felt like to be lonely. Well, you won’t really forget, but you’ll realize what you’ve been missing. I know it’s not an easy task, but it’s completely worth it.

Spending a night cooking pasta with your friends and then topping the night off with fro-yo or going over to your friend’s apartment to watch a tv show that you both love and then deciding to go to the upcoming basketball game together…those are times that you don’t want to miss out on. They’re memories, and they’re ones you’ll never forget.

4 Responses to “Pasta, Laughter, and Random Dancing…Oh, and Fro-Yo!”

  1. Mom November 4, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    This is way cool, Amelia. Fun to have your posts come into my inbox since I’m now a followerer of lifeintheblueridges. great blog name, mymountain girl. mom

    • ameliaclaire92 November 4, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      I didn’t really know how I would like it, but it’s actually really helped me since it just gives me an outlet.

  2. Errign November 4, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I had a lot of fun making pasta & eating fro yo with you 🙂 Enjoy your weekend at home 🙂

  3. ameliaclaire92 November 4, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Me too Errign! When you, me, and Malia hang out again we need to actually take pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

