“I’m with you kid! Let’s go!”

3 Nov

“Live loves to be taken by the lapel and told: I’m with you kid! Let’s go!”-Maya Angelou.

Artsy pic taken on a trip to Maine

The desire to simply want to enjoy life hasn’t always been a huge part of me. Yes, I’m a happy person, but there have only been certain times in my life where I’ve realized just how happy I am. Now is one of those times. This morning I had two huge tests that I was pretty worried about, but once they were over, it was as if all the stress just evaporated. Plus that fact that I had a massage this afternoon (that definitely helped).

I guess I’ve just realized what a great feeling it is to be happy with where you are. This time last year, I was in a different state attending a college that was so close-minded it gave me a headache. I was dealing with a non-compatible roommate, and I was in a city that is incredibly conservative. Aka I was very unhappy. However, now, I’m at a university located in the mountains (what can be better, right?) that’s in a city that is incredibly diverse and incredibly liberal, which is the perfect fit for me. Yes, it’s been a little hard to make friends since I transferred in, but the friends I have made are so great. The simple fact that I see people sitting out on the quad reading books on a daily basis just makes me smile though. I truly couldn’t think of a better place for me.

I’ve enjoyed exploring Asheville. I’ve found an Indian restaurant that me and my friends really enjoy called Mela. If I had the money to eat there at least once a week, I would. Another great place: The Hop. It’s an ice cream shop that’s only a few minutes from campus, and they have some incredibly original flavors that they make themselves. They also have different kinds of vegan ice cream, which is always a hit with the hippies of Asheville. I haven’t quite gotten into being vegan or vegetarian. I just enjoy meat way too much, haha. 🙂

5 Responses to ““I’m with you kid! Let’s go!””

  1. belasbrightideas November 3, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Amelia – and taking the time to comment on one of my posts.

    Nice to see you in the WordPress community! I’ve only been on WP for 3 months or so, and have rapidly gained a following. Keep writing! And so glad you’re enjoying ‘where you are!’ – So important not to suffer needlessly – enough of that in the world.

    Love your photo, btw – I lived in Maine for 32 years, and it was an amazing experience.

    Take care!
    Bela

  2. Errign November 4, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Love Mela & The Hop, obviously. I’ll keep penny pinching and we’ll go next week, okay? Yum. P.S. A lot of the dishes at Mela are vegan hehe.

  3. ameliaclaire92 November 4, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Yay! Let’s do it. And yeah, I know a lot of them are vegan. But that doesn’t mean I have to stop eating the yummy chicken haha!

  4. A Daily Taveller, I am. November 6, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Yes! Mela is my FAVORITE restaurant! I love reading about the new discoveries you are making, it makes me miss Asheville so much. Keep up the writing!

    • ameliaclaire92 November 6, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      Aw thanks! Asheville is such an amazing city, and I’m so happy that I can spend time living here. I enjoy reading about your new experiences too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

