A Little Introspection.

2 Nov

I’ve been through a lot in my life, but all of it has made me a stronger person. However, that isn’t to say that it still hasn’t affected me in a huge way.

I was born with CP (Cerebral Palsy). It’s a disability that affects my muscles and balance. I went through 15 years of physical therapy and 3 different surgeries to be where I am today. I’m a lot luckier than many kids with CP. Most of them have it much more severely, so I am thankful that I’m able to walk without needing assistance. I am limited though. I can’t go up steps without a railing, and I can’t play sports (since that involves running and balance). Though sometimes not being able to do certain activities with my friends has been hard, I’ve found things that I do enjoy and am able to do. For instance, starting when I was 8, I got involved in a community theatre group in my hometown, and it was the perfect decision. Anyone who is an outcast or just a little bit different should try theatre. The great thing about theatre people is that they’re all sort’ve weird and so they are incredibly welcoming and friendly (and it was just what I needed as a child). However, through all of this I had the support of my family (and I didn’t give them enough credit for their support when I was young). I didn’t gain close friends until I was in 9th grade of high school. Though I wish I had made close friends sooner, I needed that social separation in order to begin to feel okay with myself and grow into who I’m meant to be.

I’ve been living on my own since I was 16. It was a decision I made because I realized that I wanted to prove to people, but mainly myself, that I could be independent and not have to constantly ask for help. So I went to Salem Academy, an all-girls’ boarding school, for my last two years in high school, and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Salem was academically rigorous, and it was very hard my first year, but by senior year I loved it and was so sad to leave. I’ve also realized how it prepared me for college in terms of study habits and how to be academically successful. At Salem I began to find myself through writing for the school newspaper, and I made some of the best friends I’ve ever had (we still stay connected).

So here I am, 19 and in my second year of college, and I couldn’t be happier. I have some of the best friends I could ever imagine, and I’d be so lost without them. They make me a happier person and help me realize all the things that I am capable of. I’ve re-discovered my love for writing (which is partly why I started writing this blog), but it has also showed me that I still have a strong love for journalism, and I’m anxious to continue persuing my education.

Music of the moment: All Signs Point to Lauderdale by A Day To Remember. I’ve recently discovered ADTR, and I really like them. If you’re into rock music, you should check them out. 🙂

What struggles have you faced that have made you stronger? How did you get through them?

2 Responses to “A Little Introspection.”

  1. John Archer November 2, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Nice writing. All struggles make us stronger. The way to get through them is to be clear about who weare and to realize that alla the power of the universe is within us – we just have to realize this. That is what the search should be – to find our own power to transcend absolutely ANY obstacle and face up to ANY challenge.

    Thank for this.

  2. ameliaclaire92 November 2, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Thank you so much for your kind words. They mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

