Life In The Blue Ridges: The Beginning

1 Nov

THEME OF THE YEAR: CHANGE. This fall I transferred from Wofford College (in Spartanburg SC) to the University of North Carolina at Asheville. I’m a journalism and psychology double major. Asheville is a lively city and promotes individuality, while being surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains. So I’m writing this blog to share my adventures in Asheville as well as my journey through discovering who I truly am.

On with the blog: I’m new at this (just fyi). Granted, I have no idea what direction this blog will take, but I’m hoping to update once a day and just try to get out what I’m feeling (I’d love feedback too). So, I’m hoping to include books, tv, and music in my blog as well as the progression of my education. Thrilling, right? I don’t know. It could be interesting.

I am in a new place, and I think that’s as exciting as anything. Being able to discover some place new (finding friends, good restaurants, good places to hang out): all goals for this semester. Being the new kid is never fun, but I’m trying. I’ve made some good friends so far and am hoping to make more as I’m here longer and get further into my majors. Anyway, since I’m in a new place, it’s like a new beginning for me. I’m going to try and do things differently. For instance: get more involved (I’m shy before you get to know me so that makes it hard to meet new people, but I’m trying to get better at it because I realize that everyone needs a support system and people they can lean on when things get tough.)

Have any of you had a “new start” lately? What are your goals? How are you changing things from how you did them previously?

5 Responses to “Life In The Blue Ridges: The Beginning”

  1. Tucky November 2, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    I can’t wait to see where this leads…

  2. Errign November 2, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Getting involved at school is key. It took me awhile at my regular school to do this, but it does make school so much more fun. I didn’t really bother at Asheville, because there doesn’t seem to be a lot of things I want to get involved in, but if you find anything good – let me know! I’d be happy to go with you 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 November 2, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Yeah, next semester I’ll be writing for UNCA’s newspaper, so I’m hoping I’ll meet more people that way. Other than that I just need to look into things and try and find things that I enjoy. I’ve been wanting to join a book club, but I don’t know if there is one on campus. Even if there is, though, it’s hard to find out.

  3. lenovo laptop reviews November 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    Made me instantantly remember “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” –Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

