Favorite quotes from The Fault In Our Stars.

2 Aug

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green is probably one of my favorite books that I read this summer. I thought I’d include some of my favorite quotes from the book. :)

  1. “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”
  2. “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” 
  3. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”
  4. “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” 
  5. “Some people don’t understand the promises they’re making when they make them,” I said.

    “Right, of course. But you keep the promise anyway. That’s what love is. Love is keeping the promise anyway.” 

  6. “The marks humans leave are too often scars.” 
  7. “Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.” 
  8. “May I see you again?” he asked. There was an endearing nervousness in his voice.

    I smiled. “Sure.”

    “Tomorrow?” he asked.

    “Patience, grasshopper,” I counseled. “You don’t want to seem overeager.

    “Right, that’s why I said tomorrow,” he said. “I want to see you again tonight. But I’m willing to wait all night and much of tomorrow.” I rolled my eyes. “I’m serious,” he said. 

  9. “You are so busy being YOU that you have no idea how utterly unprecedented you are.” 
  10. “The pleasure of remembering had been taken from me, because there was no longer anyone to remember with. It felt like losing your co-rememberer meant losing the memory itself, as if the things we’d done were less real and important than they had been hours before.” 
  11. “You realize that trying to keep your distance from me will not lessen my affection for you. All efforts to save me from you will fail.” 
  12. “Maybe ‘okay’ will be our ‘always” 
  13. “You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.” 
  14. “And then the line was quite but not dead. I almost felt like he was there in my room with me, but in a way it was better, like I was not in my room and he was not in his, but instead we were together in some invisible and tenuous third space that could only be visited on the phone.” 
  15. “That’s the good thing about pain. It demands to be felt.”

Three words: Best. Book. Ever. Seriously, go read it. It’s amazing!

 

18 Responses to “Favorite quotes from The Fault In Our Stars.”

  1. LA Edwards August 2, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    I borrowed a few. Thanks for sharing.

  2. photosfromtheloonybin August 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    I’m taking your advice – just downloaded it for my ereader. Thanks :)

    • ameliaclaire92 August 2, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      Yes! It’s so so amazing, but sad (so have some tissues ready). Let me know what you think of it. :)

      • photosfromtheloonybin August 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        It may be a while before I get to it. My “to be read” list is massive, but at least I know I have it now :).

      • ameliaclaire92 August 2, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

        I know the feeling. My TBR list is pretty long too. Whew!

      • photosfromtheloonybin August 2, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

        Well you see, it’s still legal to download stuff in Canada (so far), so I have been downloading books right, left and centre while I can. I have about 500-600 books on my ereader that I haven’t read yet LOL!! Plus I still buy books by my favourite authors in real book form, so my bookshelves are full too. Ridiculous eh?

      • ameliaclaire92 August 2, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

        Woah, that is pretty crazy. Then again, I’m sure most of us who are bookworms can understand. :) Though I don’t have an e-reader, I’m in my local used bookstore often and normally come out with piles of books every time! :)

  3. 최다해 gongjumonica August 3, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    I have downloaded this in my ebook reader and added it in my TBR list. Thanks for sharing the quotes!

  4. tanya grove November 17, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    I also loved this book, and it’s definitely competing for best book I’ve read this year. At one point, though, my tears almost kept me from being able to read it.

  5. Bhuwan December 7, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    Hey!!I read it and couldn’t stop crying . Since then i have read it at least 10 times. I know i am a litlle neurotic,but that’s ok because it’s not everyday that you come across such a little gem of a book with such profound insights and wisdom nuggets. I am in love with Augustus and mouring his loss. :(

  6. everydayadifferentbody January 5, 2013 at 3:13 am #

    im so in love with this book!ive read it a lot of times already!xD

  7. candycanecoolio January 7, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    I have been changed by this book. I actually have a full account on my books page on my blog and I absolutely love this book. It was one of my favorite books and I cried half the time and laughed the other time. I actually made a project for reading where agustus was writing the letter and it’s on my writing page if you want to see it. I love the book, READ IT IF YOU SEE THIS OR I WILL FIND YOU AND YOU WILL PAY. Thank you, and goodbye.

  8. kaycee July 23, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    This book IS amazing and as I am rereading the quotes you included, I am crying all over again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The top 5 Jodi Picoult quotes to help you change your life. « lifeintheblueridges - November 17, 2012

    [...] understood it, but it’s a concept that I’ve come across with other writers as well (John Green, Lucy Grealy). Though Jodi Picoult’s words haven’t necessarily changed me, they have [...]

  2. The top 5 Jodi Picoult quotes to help you change your life. - November 24, 2012

    [...] understood it, but it’s a concept that I’ve come across with other writers as well (John Green, Lucy Grealy). Though Jodi Picoult’s words haven’t necessarily changed me, they have [...]

  3. The sound of jumping up and down | Mirrorgirl - November 7, 2013

    […] 2AUG […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,528 other followers

